TEU Council and committees – positions vacant.

Nominations closed last week for numerous positions on TEU’s governing Council and national committees. Returning Officer Samantha Stephen has declared 13 nominees elected unopposed while 11 positions remain unfilled. A further three positions are contested and will therefore require ballots to be held.

Members elected unopposed are:

Council: Frederique Vanholsbeeck (university academic staff), Grant Bush (university general staff), Jill Milburn (ITP academic staff), Rachel Bolstad (non-university or ITP), and Zoë Port (U35).

National Women’s Committee: Te Awatea Ward and Patricia Quensell (general staff), Helena Cook (Pasifika), and Jennifer Jeffery (U35).

Industrial and Professional Committee: Harvey Jones (university general staff), Antonia Verstappen (women), Briar Davies, and Thomas Li (U35).

Elections will be held to find four academic staff representatives for National Women’s Committee. Nominees for these positions are Clare Thomas (Toi Ohomai), Louise MacKenzie (EIT), Sarah Hardman (Unitec), Ruth Thomas (Toi Ohomai), and Sian Halcrow (University of Otago).

Likewise, two ITP academic staff representatives and two ITP general staff representatives will be elected to the Industrial and Professional Committee.

The academic staff nominees are Cynthia Martell-Stark (Toi Ohomai), Steve McCabe (MIT), and Prabhat Chand (Unitec). General staff nominees are Jody Takimoana (Otago Polytechnic), Daniel Achonwa (Unitec), and Michelle Watt (Otago Polytechnic).

Please note the change in date for the ballots which will be running between 10-17 November. This allows candidates time to campaign if they wish to. Each candidate’s personal statement can be found on our website.

Meanwhile a call for nominations for unfilled positions went out yesterday, 10 October. Remaining vacant positions are:

Council: An ITP general staff representative, an under 35 representative, and a Pasifika representative.

National Women’s Committee: Two general staff representatives.
Industrial and Professional Committee: Two university academic staff representatives, a university general staff representative, a women’s representative, a wānanga representative, and a representative from a tertiary provider that is not a university, ITP, or wānanga.

Nomination forms are available here. All nomination forms and 500-word maximum candidate statements should be emailed to the returning officer at samantha.stephen@teu.ac.nz before the close of nominations which is 5.00pm on 11 November 2022.