The Tertiary Education Union Te Hautū Kahurangi o Aotearoa (TEU) willhonour Dr Sandra Grey and former Aoraki Branch President Carol Soal LifeMembership Awards at its annual conference on Monday evening.Dr Sandra Grey joined AUS in 1999 while she was studying at the Universityof Auckland, and again in 2003 after securing her first academic post atVictoria University of Wellington. She later served two terms as TEUNational President and was Vice President of the Industrial andProfessional Committee.Grey’s political acumen and her ability to forge relationships across arange of spectrums has stood the TEU in good stead during her leadershipyears.Grey has always kept the people at the centre of her work. She especiallykept those most vulnerable in her sights; reminding us often of herpersonal connections to young people who were not being served by ourtertiary system. She always brought to the fore for the rest of New Zealandexamples of the system letting us all down; students, staff, and citizens.Former Aoraki Branch President Carol Soal joined the Association of Staffin Tertiary Education in March 2003 on her first day working for AorakiPolytechnic. She became co-Branch President in 2010 and later in 2014became Branch President for Aoraki.Carol held several national roles, notably as General Representative oncouncil on the ITP Sector group, as Vice-President General in 2012, and asa representative on the Industrial and Professional Committee. Carol wasalso TEU representative on the Health and Safety committee for both Aorakiand Ara and played a key role in the remuneration project includingreassessing general staff salaries at Aoraki, and on the bargaining teamfor Aoraki and later Ara.Carol’s sustained and unquestioned level of commitment and loyalty to thecause and the union, working collaboratively, collectively and insolidarity was a strength of hers during her time in leadership roles.The TEU will also honour the University of Canterbury’s Professor Anne-Marie Brady and AUT Senior Lecturer John Prince with awards of excellence.Professor Anne-Marie Brady researches Chinese domestic and foreign politicsand polar politics at the University of Canterbury. Professor Bradyreceives the TEU Award of Academic Freedom for her analysis NewZealand-China relations, her unwavering commitment to academic integrityand responsibility, and her commitment to the union movement.TEU also recognises John Prince, AUT Senior Lecturer – Mechanical andProduction, with an Award of Excellence for Professional Integrity for hislong commitment to the rights of workers, and in defence of theprofessional integrity of both engineering and the tertiary educationsector.Details

  • TEU’s awards ceremony
  • 7.45 pm
  • Monday 6 May 2019
  • The Brentwood Hotel
  • Kilbirnie, Wellington