TEU members have elected Dr Frédérique Vanholsbeeck as university academic staff representative, and Grant Bush as general staff representative to the TEU Council.

TEU university academic staff representative Dr Frédérique Vanholsbeeck is Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Diversity and Inclusion in the Faculty of Science at Te Whare Wānanga o Tāmaki Makaurau – The University of Auckland. Dr Vanholsbeeck is passionate about equity and work-life balance issues, and says these are two areas she will continue to champion as TEU university and academic staff representative,

“Through my work as an academic, an associate dean equity and a union member, I aim to improve our working conditions in terms of pay and workload. I also have a strong focus on recruitment and retention of a more diverse staff cohort, and a focus on making tertiary institutions a safer and more welcoming environment”.

TEU general staff representative Grant Bush is an Infrastructure Architect in the Information Technology Services department at Te Whare Wānanga o Waitaha | The University of Canterbury. Grant has worked in the tertiary education sector for over 30 years and says he’s energised by the opportunities TEU has to make a real difference to conditions of work for staff,

“I believe in a fair society for everyone and that it is the duty of everyone to support those less fortunate than themselves and that only by doing this can we create a safe place for us all. This means that I am a strong advocate for insecure workers and a critic of the casualisation of our work”.

If you’re a TEU member head to the website for more on the 2020 elections.