Te Tumu Āwhina (2).

Jonyne Mariu-Komene


Nominations have now closed and Vicki Young and Jonyne Mariu-Komene have been elected unopposed.

Jonyne Mariu-Komene

I am currently one of three Academic Staff Representatives on Te Toi Ahurangi and the Unitec Branch Te Uepū Māori Representative and I have had the privilege of working along side other strong Māori unionists and I look forward to supporting our Māori members along side Te Tumu Arataki.

I would like to continue advocating for our Māori TEU members and tautoko the VP Tumu Arataki, as we navigate our way through the amalgamation of the 16 subsidiaries under Te Pūkenga in 2023.

Being part of Te Toi Ahurangi and as the Te Uepū Representative, has also given me the opportunity to work closely with our Unitec Branch President, to provide support for our Te Whare Wānanga o Wairaka - Unitec Māori TEU members.