TEU to honour Grey and Soal with Life Membership Awards

Posted By TEU on May 6, 2019 | 1 comment

The Tertiary Education Union Te Hautū Kahurangi o Aotearoa (TEU) will
honour Dr Sandra Grey and former Aoraki Branch President Carol Soal Life
Membership Awards at its annual conference on Monday evening.

Dr Sandra Grey joined AUS in 1999 while she was studying at the University
of Auckland, and again in 2003 after securing her first academic post at
Victoria University of Wellington. She later served two terms as TEU
National President and was Vice President of the Industrial and
Professional Committee.

Grey’s political acumen and her ability to forge relationships across a
range of spectrums has stood the TEU in good stead during her leadership

Grey has always kept the people at the centre of her work. She especially
kept those most vulnerable in her sights; reminding us often of her
personal connections to young people who were not being served by our
tertiary system. She always brought to the fore for the rest of New Zealand
examples of the system letting us all down; students, staff, and citizens.

Former Aoraki Branch President Carol Soal joined the Association of Staff
in Tertiary Education in March 2003 on her first day working for Aoraki
Polytechnic. She became co-Branch President in 2010 and later in 2014
became Branch President for Aoraki.

Carol held several national roles, notably as General Representative on
council on the ITP Sector group, as Vice-President General in 2012, and as
a representative on the Industrial and Professional Committee. Carol was
also TEU representative on the Health and Safety committee for both Aoraki
and Ara and played a key role in the remuneration project including
reassessing general staff salaries at Aoraki, and on the bargaining team
for Aoraki and later Ara.

Carol’s sustained and unquestioned level of commitment and loyalty to the
cause and the union, working collaboratively, collectively and in
solidarity was a strength of hers during her time in leadership roles.

The TEU will also honour the University of Canterbury’s Professor Anne
-Marie Brady and AUT Senior Lecturer John Prince with awards of excellence.

Professor Anne-Marie Brady researches Chinese domestic and foreign politics
and polar politics at the University of Canterbury. Professor Brady
receives the TEU Award of Academic Freedom for her analysis New
Zealand-China relations, her unwavering commitment to academic integrity
and responsibility, and her commitment to the union movement.

TEU also recognises John Prince, AUT Senior Lecturer – Mechanical and
Production, with an Award of Excellence for Professional Integrity for his
long commitment to the rights of workers, and in defence of the
professional integrity of both engineering and the tertiary education


  • TEU’s awards ceremony
  • 7.45 pm
  • Monday 6 May 2019
  • The Brentwood Hotel
  • Kilbirnie, Wellington
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

1 Comment

  1. well deserved Dr Sandra Grey

    Post a Reply

What are your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.