Draper and Francey to contest vice-presidency

Posted By TEU on Sep 15, 2011 |

The University of Canterbury’s Helen Kissell, and the University of Auckland’s Alexandra Sims have both been re-elected unopposed as TEU general staff vice-president and women’s vice-president respectively. However, the ITP academic staff vice presidency will be a contest between incumbent Richard Draper from CPIT and Manukau Institute of Technology’s Lesley Francey.

Mr Draper and Ms Francey are both experienced TEU officials who many of their union colleagues will know well. Details of the election, including campaign material from the candidates, will be available soon. All TEU members who are academics at an ITP will be eligible to vote.

Sharn Riggs, the union’s national secretary and returning officer announced the results of a recent round of nominations for TEU officer positions.

Sean Sturm, University of Auckland, John Prince, AUT, Scott Walters, Lincoln University, Diane Ruwhiu, University of Otago, Dov Bing, University of Waikato and Brian Marsh the teacher education rep were all elected unopposed to the University Sector Group. Likewise Helen Brett, University of Otago , Roland (David) Brownlee, University of Auckland and Annie Barker, University of Waikato were elected unopposed to the General Staff Sector Group.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email